Administrative Offices will be closed every Friday in August.

Planning Commission

Meetings are normally held the 4th Wednesday of each month, in the Township Administration Building, 6:00 p.m.


Planning Commission Meeting Dates

January 23, 2019

February 27, 2019

March 20, 2019

April 24, 2019

May 22, 2019

June 26, 2019

July 24, 2019

August 28, 2019

September 25, 2019

October 23, 2019

November 20, 2019

December 18, 2019

Sandra Covaleski
Term Expires – 12/2019

David Engelhardt
Term Expires – 12/2021

Ed LaPlant
Ex-Officio member


Mark Norton
Term Expires – 12/2020

Bill Schubert – Chair
Term Expires – 12/2021



Mike Nielsen
Term Expires – 12/2019

Bob Thomas
Term Expires – 12/2020



The Bangor Township Planning Commission is created as specified in 2008 P.A. 33, as amended, the Michigan Planning Enabling Act. The Planning Commission shall have all powers, duties and responsibilities as provided to it in that Act, in 2006 P.A. 110, the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act, and in 1967 P.A. 288, the Land Division Act, together with such other powers and duties as are given to such Planning Commission by the provisions of this ordinance and Chapter 16 of the Code of Ordinances, Charter Township of Bangor, Michigan as adopted by Bangor Township Ordinance No. 290, including authority to act on all matters requiring the approval or recommendation of such Planning Commission.

The township supervisor shall appoint members of the Planning Commission, subject to approval by a majority vote of the members of the Township Board, elected and serving.

The Planning Commission shall consist of five, seven or nine members. Other than ex-officio members appointed as provided in subsection E, below, members shall be appointed for three-year terms. A number of members the Planning Commission first appointed, other than ex-officio members, shall be appointed to one-year or two-year terms such that, as nearly as possible, the terms of 1/3 of all the Planning Commission members will expire each year. If a vacancy occurs on the Planning Commission, the vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as provided for an original appointment. A member shall hold office until his or her successor is appointed.

The membership of the Planning Commission shall be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the township, in accordance with the major interests as they exist in the township, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry and commerce. The membership shall also be representative of the entire geography of the township to the extent practicable.

Members of the Planning commission shall be qualified electors of the township, except that one member may be appointed who is not a qualified elector of the township.

One member of the Township Board shall be appointed to the Planning Commission, as an ex-officio member. Except as provided in this subsection, an elected official or employee of the township is not eligible to be a member of the Planning Commission. The term of the ex-officio Township Board member of the Planning Commission shall expire with his or her term on the Township Board.






 Township Board

 January 14 at 6:00 p.m.

Zoning Board of Appeals
  January 21 at 6:00 p.m. - canceled

Planning Commission
  January 21 at 6:00 p.m. - canceled

 Downtown Development Authority

January 10, at 8:00 a.m.

Green Team

January 7 at 10:00 a.m.





Offices will closed January 20, 2020

MONDAY - FRIDAY 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.



A boat launch access site is located at 1600 Martin Street, Bay City.

Annual and daily passes are available. 

Daily Parking/Boat Launch……………………………………………………………. $5.00
Annual Boat Launch Pass (Bangor Township Resident)………………………… $25.00
Annual Boat Launch Pass (Non Bangor Township Resident)…………………… $35.00

For additional information call 989-684-8531.